Governing Body

Michael Knight – Mayor


Mike has lived in the Stanley area his entire life.  He graduated from Page County High School and attended Ferrum College.  He has been married to his wife, Nina, for 37 years.  He has four sons, Chris, Joshua, Jeremiah, and Adam and six grandchildren.  He was appointed to the Stanley Town Council in 1998.  He was elected Mayor of Stanley in 2016.  He is President and CEO of Knight and Lucas Construction, Inc.  He and his partner have successfully owned and operated their business since 1983.  His Hobbies include drag racing and golf.  He is Mason and member of the Magnetic Lodge No. 184.

Bruce Stoneberger – Vice-Mayor

Bruce W. Stoneberger was elected to the Stanley Town Council in 2007. He is a Lifetime Member of the Stanley Vol. Fire Dept. after Joining the dept. in 1975.

He and his wife, Wilma, are members of Antioch Independent Bible Church. They have two sons, Andrew Craig Stoneberger, Brad Wade Stoneberger and his wife Penny, Grandson Brennan, Granddaughter Bristol. He is the Son of late Willard S. and Minnie C. Stoneberger.

Dwayne Layman- Councilman

Mr. Layman is 65 and married to Katinna Layman and resides at 179 Deford Avenue.  Mr. Layman is a former law enforcement, a present member of the Stanley Volunteer Rescue Squad, and  a life member of the Stanley Volunteer Fire Department.


Jeremiah Knight- Councilman

Jeremiah D. Knight is one of the newest elected town officials.  He was elected in 2016.  He is the Chairman of the Public Works Committee, a member of the Parks and Recreation Committee, and a member of the Personnel Committee.  He serves as volunteer for the Stanley Little League, Page Youth Football League and a member of the Stanley Homecoming Committee.

Jeremiah is married to Heather and has two wonderful boys, Kaiden and Noah.  Between volunteering and ball parks, he enjoys spending time with family and friends, camping, drag racing, and obstacle runs.

Joseph Mauck- Councilman

Planning Commission

  • Delmas Buracker
  • Julie Petefish
  • Robin Caracofe
  • Timmy Rickard
  • Timmy Prince
  • Ben Gray

Board of Zoning and Appeals

  • Donnie Babb
  • Beverly Breeden
  • Ronnie McCoy
  • Douglas Purdham